top of page
Search
  • oxfordnorthernsoci

Lads n Lasses of the North - Ellie Harrison

Hi, I’m Ellie a second year law student at Lady Margaret Hall (LMH). I went to a state grammar school in the North and whilst my school was good, Oxbridge was never really something that I considered or saw as an option for myself. In fact, even until around Year 11 I was planning on doing an apprenticeship rather than going to university. It wasn’t until one of my teachers suggested to me that I should apply to Oxbridge that I considered that it could maybe be an option for me.


I went to an Open Day and honestly fell in love with the city, but I still wasn’t sure if someone like me would ever fit in at Oxford. The stereotypes of Oxford scared me and nearly stopped me from applying, but honestly whilst some people do fit the stereotypical Oxford image, the majority of


people that I know here prove that there is no typical ‘Oxford student’. If you are even considering applying to Oxbridge, I urge you to apply because you don’t know what will happen unless you try. I have made some of the best friends and have some of my happiest memories at Oxford and genuinely couldn’t imagine going to any other university. I will admit that there are times when Oxford can feel very Southern dominated but there are a lot more Northern people here than I expected which has definitely helped to make Oxford feel like home. Don’t let anyone tell you that Oxford isn’t the right place for you, especially yourself, because you really don’t know what will happen unless you apply.






14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page